Book review: Ignite the Stars – Maura Milan

Title: Ignite the Stars
Author: Maura Milan
Publisher: Albert Whitman & Company
Release date: September 4th 2018
Genre: Young Adult Sci-fi

Summary

Everyone in the universe knows his name. Everyone in the universe fears him. But no one realizes that notorious outlaw Ia Cocha is a seventeen-year-old girl.

A criminal mastermind and unrivaled pilot, Ia has spent her life terrorizing the Olympus Commonwealth, the imperialist nation that destroyed her home. When the Commonwealth captures her and her true identity is exposed, they see Ia’s age and talent as an opportunity: by forcing her to serve them, they will prove that no one is beyond their control.

Soon, Ia is trapped at the Commonwealth’s military academy, desperately plotting her escape. But new acquaintances—including Brinn, a seemingly average student with a closely-held secret, and their charming Flight Master, Knives—cause Ia to question her own alliances. Can she find a way to escape the Commonwealth’s clutches before these bonds deepen?

In this exhilarating edge-of-your-seat sci-fi adventure—perfect for fans of The Lunar Chronicles—debut author Maura Milan introduces our world to a thrilling new heroine.

Review

I received this book in exchange for an honest review

To be completely honest, before I started reading this book I was quite sure I wasn’t going to like this book. I just kept reading other books and ignoring this one. I always try to start a book unbiased, but I have already read so many disappointing YA sci-fi books in the last year and a half that I really just had given up to be honest.

It was though love at first….
In the beginning of this book I really didn’t like the characters. They started of as nothing special and nothing we haven’t already seen a thousand times before. 
   There are three narrators and in the first characters they were all portrayed as perfect humans with perfect memory and perfect looks… boring.

But, pretty quickly the atmosphere changed and it appeared the characters weren’t as bland as they seemed! From that point the story became better and better. And in the end I ended up really liking this book.

I would have loved more background info.

Many things, like the histories of all the different space races,  all the things Ia Cocha did that gave her such a big name and especially what happened to Earth all those many years ago, are questions that I would love to have answers on. I just overall would have loved to have more history on a lot of things. The whole concept is so cool, but a lot was really vague. That’s sad because I really love some details in a story.

Overall a great book and one of the best YA sci-fi books I read in a long time! Definitely a book that every YA sci-fi lover should read.

4 Comments

Tell me what you think!